Not a review: I shortened some curtains.

Psssst!  This blog post (and the full-sized images) is now at: sewpow.com

Fellow bloggers will know my dilemma:  I spent a sewing day doing something unbloggable.  But I want credit for having sewn things.  A gold star.  A pat on the back from the ‘sphere.  Something.

So I shortened some curtains for my big brother. When I first started sewing, I was all “I can do anything.” Then he kindly asked me to shorten these curtains. And months passed. Finally wracked with guilt, I turned my talents to these sheer curtains that’ve been dragging on the floor since he bought his house.

It was my first time working with any kind of sheer fabric.  The presser foot on my Brother (the machine, not the person) doesn’t have adjustable pressure.  Sometimes I feel that it distorts lightweight fabrics.

Also, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise: the easiest sewing projects are *the worst*.  Sure, just a straight line and a doubled-over hem.  Yeah, but you have to do all the measuring on your hands and knees because you don’t have a table wide enough to accommodate.

This was my first time using Heat n Bond.  Whatevs.  It worked.  Didn’t change my life.  Didn’t see Jesus.  It’s kinda stiff, so I can imagine it distorting the hang of a garment hem.

Too-long curtains: how to shorten them.

Before.

Shortened curtains

After.

I used Heat n Bond to shorten the curtains.

It didn’t change my life forever. But I’ll probably use it whenever shortening curtains.

Tell me I did good. Rub me behind the ears.

Kisses and Stitches,
Ruthie

This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not a review: I shortened some curtains.

  1. Laura says:

    Well done!! I haven’t even bothered putting curtains up in our place…

  2. Nakisha says:

    You are the awesomest of the awesome sewers!!

  3. Gillian says:

    Gold star Ruthie. Sometimes I find a get a real kick out of having a job like that behind me.

  4. Ebi Poweigha says:

    Curtains are no joke! Good job 🙂

Comments are closed.