New Pattern for Fall Sewing: Simplicity 1325

Psssst!  This blog post (and the full-sized photos) moved: sewpow.com

 

It’s fall–in my sewing room.  I got the autumn stitch itch (ASI).  After the little write-up with my picks for the Simplicity early fall line, I’ve had cool-weather clothes on the brain.

So I finally cut up and stitched something: An easy-to-sew knit top from the Simplicity 1325 envelope.  I picked it for the long, cozy sleeves.  I’ve got fabric for the dress, too.  Here’s the pattern envelope:

Simplicity 1325 Misses pants, jumper or tunic, jacket and top

Without further ado, here is the knit top:

Simplicity 1325 New patterns for fall--knit top with extra long sleeves Simplicity 1325 New patterns for fall--knit top with extra long sleevesThis is only my second knit top, so it’s just not perfect.  This is definitely progress over the first one though.


Pros:

Love, love, love the extra-long sleeves.  They’re great for when it’s warm during the day and a tad nippy in the evening.

easy project–anyone but me could do in a day

straightforward directions.


Con:

The fit around the neck isn’t perfect.  It’s not the kind of fit issue I would have noticed before I started sewing, though.  So if you’re not a total freak, it is probably nothing.


Overall:

I’m happy enough with it that I’m *definitely* sewing up the dress that goes over it.

Lastly, I have your 360 view:

Simplicity 1325 New patterns for fall--knit top with extra long sleevesNot that anyone asked, but I was totally wearing my McCalls pajama bottoms from last month while writing this post.  They’re still such a win.

Who else is already elbow-deep in their fall sewing?

Kisses and stitches,

Ruthie

P.S.  If you want to know what else I’m cooking up from the latest Simplicity collection, take a peak at this.  If you want to be the first to see new posts, subscribe on the sidebar~~

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in Simplicity Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Pattern for Fall Sewing: Simplicity 1325

  1. Mrs.Smith says:

    I *almost* sewed this up this past week!! I think it will definitely go in queue though just for the long, comfy sleeves. Reminds me of my favorite Gap tee.

    It looks great on you and I love the fabric!

    I am heading into fall sewing. I have plans for transitional tops and I need PANTS. I also want to sew a couple jackets/cardigans and a cape. Not too ambitious, right?? 🙂

    • Ruthie says:

      You’re a crazy person. The kind that whips up a mini wardrobe on the weekend. Feel free to make me a pair of pants because that’s sooooo not in my current skill set. Thanks for stopping in~

  2. qplourde says:

    Ack! Not ready for fall! Still behind in my summer projects. But great top, and I like the look of dress. Can’t wait to see it.

  3. Erika says:

    It looks great! Love that print, perfect fall colors. I haven’t started fall sewing yet, but I’m ready to get myself some fall fabric and get started. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Fall 2014?! Ten New Simplicity patterns to talk about. | Ruthie Reviews

Comments are closed.