McCalls Early Fall 2014– Four picks and a tip.

 

 

Psssst!  This blog post has moved: sewpow.com

M914_hp adjust

So last week Simplicity revealed their Early Fall 2014 collection.  And there were a few winners.  McCalls seems to be batting the same.  Without further ado, here are my picks:

McCalls 6995

McCalls 6995, don’t let the envelope fool you– it’s only the jacket.  But, ooooo! what a jacket.  Now, I’ve never made anything as tailored as this, but for $1.40 on sale at Jo-Ann’s, I can dream about making it.  To anyone with this kind of experience, is this an ok jacket to cut my teeth on??  Maybe View A since it has no collar.

McCalls 6993

Next up, we have an intriguing skirt.  Burda once had a skirt like it, but I’d rather step barefoot on a pin than use a printable pattern.

The Burda skirt, turns out, wasn’t quite the same.  Better hook up the printer.  Anyone know what the pattern number this is?  I snipped this out of Spanish Burda.

McCalls 6994

View E or View F, to be clear.  I have a similar RTW skirt already.  It’s black and has been with me for years.  Once in a while I re-dye it black.  And it’s served so well, I’d love to make another.  Maybe with some wide elastic so nothing digs into my…curves.  (This is my number one peeve in clothes.)

McCalls 6992

Really like this pattern.  I don’t have a reliable go-to top yet.  And I’ve been on the lookout for something to use ribbing on.  Enter M6992.

Now, here’s the tip:  When viewing the offerings of McCalls, Simplicity, Butterick, etc, click on all of the patterns and look at the line drawings–even the unattractive ones.  Sometimes these companies use such gaudy trims or fabric combinations, it’s hard to see the potential.

Case and point?  6992 and 6994 both had terrible cover images but turned out to be winners underneath:

 

McCalls 7003

And as a bonus, we can talk about M7003.  This would go into the “one day when everything else has been sewn” category.  Maybe by the time my man actually needs a cane.

Serious question: am I the only one who has several ideas about Halloween even though it’s July?

Are you putting together your sewing for early fall?  If so, check out my other list of promising potential patterns.

Kisses and stitches,

Ruthie

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in McCalls Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to McCalls Early Fall 2014– Four picks and a tip.

  1. Pingback: New for Fall 2014?! Ten patterns to talk about. | Ruthie Reviews

  2. Ebi Poweigha says:

    Oh, yes: line drawings are *everything*! Do you get your ribbing from an online source, or a brick & mortar store? I’ve found that it’s hard to find in colors other than white and black.

    • Ruthie says:

      So, having never sewn with ribbing, I’m mostly a spectator. I was thinking to do contrast with black or white and then have fun on the actual body of the garment. Would going all white and then dyeing to match be an option? (I don’t know.)

      • Ebi Poweigha says:

        Oooh, dying! So clever! I’ve seen some very successful dyed projects among home sewers. Getting bunches of white ribbing & dying it to the color you want would probably be more succesful (and special) than searching for pre-dyed ribbing in the color you want.

  3. Ruthie, I’m loving your reviews! I definitely need to add a “one day when everything else has been sewn” category to my list lol And no… you’re not the only one already thinking about Halloween! 🙂 I nominated you for the versatile blogger award; just posted details: http://kylachristine.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/the-versatile-blogger-award/

Comments are closed.