Unfortunately, I’ll have to burn this top

Psssst!  This blog post has moved: sewpow.com

Ok, that’s a bit sensationalist, as far as titles go. What I will say is that this would-be wardrobe basic hasn’t worked out yet.

The pattern in question is Simplicity 2189.  View B.

Simplicity 2189 diy tank top

Harmless-looking, as patterns go. It harbored, I now know, a deep dark secret: it was designed for broad-shouldered linebackers. *sigh*

Here are those three poses.  You can click to enlarge:

Now to rectify the situation, I’m gonna have to take out the neck binding and take it in on the center back seam. Not impossible. But not exactly an enviable task, either.

Bit gap-y in the chest, too. That’s more my (genetic) fault than the pattern’s, though.

So, should my copy of pattern Simplicity 2189 ask why it’s alone in the corner, you tell it: You’ve been bad.

Think about what you've done, 2189.
Think about what you’ve done, 2189.

*deep sigh*

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in Simplicity Patterns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Unfortunately, I’ll have to burn this top

  1. Chinneliya says:

    Lol! It’s not that bad 🙂 I too have problems with shoulder measurements; they always gape at my neck, so annoying!

    • Ruthie says:

      Hi, Chinneliya. Our struggles! And it’s so hard to know whether any particular pattern will gape. Or maybe it is all.

  2. Amanda says:

    I never get these simple tops right! Ever! Is it the fact that they are so simple there is nothing to hide the fit????

  3. I feel your pain, I usually have to take at least an inch out of the centre back! Its cute fabric though, might be worth the hassle of unpicking the binding!

    • Ruthie says:

      Ha! I’m lousy with that striped fabric. Got it from Fabric.com when I was young and stupid (2 months ago). But, waste not want not…

  4. Jeanne Marie says:

    This made me laugh, particularly the end. Thanks!

  5. Ebi Poweigha says:

    Hah! You could fit your lunch in the gap at the back neck, my goodness! Luckily, it’s easy to fix the pattern, even though it will be a pain to fix this (very cute) make.

Comments are closed.