McCalls Unisex Sleepwear M4320 View B

Psssst!  This blog post has moved: sewpow.com

McCalls Sewing Pattern M4320 diy pajamas

Even in sketches, I’m pigeon-toed.

What’s better than having lots of pajamas?  If you guessed “lots of homemade pajamas,” you were correct!  Today I bring you McCalls M4320.  It features six views, in three sizes, for two genders.  Technically, that’s 36 options, not endless~~

McCalls pattern M4320

Nothing says Sunday morning like a folded newspaper and casual robe.

What did I sew?

View B of McCalls 4320 in size small in “snuggle flannel.”

Why did I sew this garment?

I actually started this garment well before my recent posts.  It seemed like an Easy Option.  Hehe.  Also, what better way to practice garment skills than to sew clothes that never leave the house?

What new skills did I practice?

  • my first neck facing (if you look carefully in the video, you’ll see I haven’t washed off the water-soluble ink yet)
  • raglan sleeves
  • ruining a garment and starting over–a seamstress can have no greater attribute than the determination to try harder

Pros:

  • mostly straightforward directions
  • lots of options all in one envelope
  • the chance to practice raglan sleeves before moving on to set-in sleeves
  • cozy, generous sleeves

Cons:

  • inconsistent seam finishing directions
  • being unisex, the shirt doesn’t accommodate the female form very well–judicious hemming can some help here

Tips:

  • be careful when choosing the envelope.  you and the person you sew for (for whom you sew??) may not be in the same size group.

The classic 3-point pose:

McCalls Sewing Pattern M4320 diy pajamas

Front

 

 

 

 

McCalls Sewing Pattern M4320 diy pajamas

Side

McCalls Sewing Pattern M4320 diy pajamas

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

So the next view I’m gonna make is the Robe.  Note: the Robe doesn’t have a view letter.  My boyfriend and I both need summer robes, but who should get theirs first?  Let the intrepid readers decide!

Thanks for reading.

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in McCalls Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to McCalls Unisex Sleepwear M4320 View B

  1. Nakisha says:

    100% in favor of Ruthie!!!! 🙂

    Raglan sleeves are a gift from the sewing Gods.

  2. Pingback: New Review: McCalls 6848 Adorable Sleepwear | Ruthie Reviews

Comments are closed.