Ruthie Reviews: Prof Pincushion’s Newborn Onesie!

Psssst!  This blog post has moved: sewpow.com

When Professor Pincushion posted her pattern for a newborn onesie, I had just started sewing and just received a baby shower invitation.  Fate.  All I needed was a yard of knit and some snaps.

I made one tiny alteration.  Instead of the recommended snaps, I just used dollar store sew-on fasteners.  They go on easy.  Maybe if you were making a ton of onesies, the tool method would make sense.

This particular dollar was 1.19

This particular dollar was $1.29

To install them, all you need is a needle and thread.

To install them, all you need is a needle and thread.

It’s hard to not like a free pattern that comes with an instructional video.  Sewer see, sewer do.

This project had a few firsts for me:

  • my first completed knit project.
  • my first time making and working with binding.
  • my first non-raglan sleeves.
  • my first time using stitch number 15 on my Brother CS6000i.  It’s a thread-eater but looks nice.
First time with ruler and rotary cutter.  Four layers.  Was skeptical then impressed.

First time with ruler and rotary cutter. Four layers. Was skeptical, then impressed.

Stitch 15 uses a lot of thread but has a nice look to it.

Stitch 15 uses a lot of thread but has a good look to it.

These clips were useful.

These clips were useful.

I've started swapping out the top thread for all my basting.  It's easier to take out later.

I’ve started swapping out the top thread for all my basting. It’s easier to take out later.

A curious side note:  the baby’s gender is being kept secret.  Well, actually, it’s on the invite.  But I’m afraid of accidentally mentioning it to the mother.  So I didn’t read that part.  Anywho, when I picked the fabric, I needed something suitable for either gender.  This print just jumped out at me.  Wasn’t til I got home that I realized that it was the same from the video.  Sigh.

The last step of the directions was to find a baby:

Is this creepy?  Would borrowing an infant have been better??

Is this creepy? Would borrowing an infant have been better??

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in Internet Patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ruthie Reviews: Prof Pincushion’s Newborn Onesie!

  1. Emmely says:

    It looks great, lovely print certainly suitable for each gender. But am I interpreting it correctly that the parents do not yet know the gender but it’s put on the invitation for the baby shower so other people do know? That is seriously odd…

    • patruthie says:

      Thanks, Emmely. So the deal is that the mother has a very packed and variable work schedule. Her shower date can’t be a surprise so the baby’s gender will be the surprise. It’s my first baby shower and I had no idea this wasn’t usual. Haha.

      • Emmely says:

        Where I live babyshowers are already unusual. Parents will decide whether they want to be told the gender when they have an ultrasound and when they do they then decide whether to tell everyone else or keep it to themselves. To me it is really weird that the mother doesn’t know when her family/friends/neighbours already do.

      • Ruthie says:

        Haha. Well, I guess even after she finds out, there’s plenty of time to prepare.

  2. Haha! I love the bear! I have the same issues..deciding the best way to show off baby clothes.

    • Ruthie says:

      Yup. You missed the after party where I put the onesie on a loaf of whole wheat bread. Not the worst way to display the garment.

Comments are closed.