Ruthie Reviews: Simplicity 1430 Shorts Pattern

Psssst!  This blog post has moved: sewpow.com

Simplicity 1430 in Keepsake Calico

 

S1430 FrontS1430 Back

Plenty of ease.

Plenty of ease.

 

Simplicity 1430, View D, size 12, no alterations.

About Ruthie

I sew.
This entry was posted in Simplicity Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ruthie Reviews: Simplicity 1430 Shorts Pattern

  1. Nakisha says:

    I’m getting ready to make these and I do not like to muslin! 🙂

    Can you tell me what your hip measurement is, compared to the size you cut?? I’m deciding between a 16 and 18. Thanks!

    • Ruthie says:

      Hi, Nakisha. I’m not much of a muslin-maker either. I checked the envelope and this pattern has four inches of ease for any size. I went down a size because 2 inches of ease is plenty for me. Really, your call.

      • Nakisha says:

        I went with the 18 and ended up taking 3/4″ side seams and they are still a tad loose… 🙂 But they are really nice shorts!

  2. Pingback: New Pattern Review: Simplicity C2010 | Ruthie Reviews

  3. Ebi Poweigha says:

    Great video review!

  4. Thanks Ruthie, your review has been very helpful. I’ve looked at that fabric in brosn for another project but what a great idea for these shorts.

    • Ruthie says:

      Hi Mahlica. Yeah, so after making those shorts, I learned that calico was for quilting. Haha. No regrets, though. I’m waiting for another big sale to get some more for the pants. Thanks for adding to the dialogue!

Comments are closed.